Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Miscellaneous / Off-topic
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedThe PooPOD Comes Home

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: The PooPOD Comes Home
    Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 7:56pm
What a day! Mike, Skye (our Poodle) and I drove from the Farm in SC to Winston-Salem to pick up the PooPOD. Started out a nice day but we expected bad weather both in SC and in Winston-Salem. The wind was picking up before we were 50 miles down the road.
 I've been pulling a TAB with my Ford Escape for 6 years so I'm used to towing but some things were unexpected.  Mike traded an old car we kept around the Farm simply because it was cheap to loan out to customers of our Aircraft Maintenance business. So out went the Old Olds and in came a 2007 EDGE which was to be my primary tow vehicle (3.5 Liter, tow rate 3,500).  As a backup tow vehicle we expected to use our 1999 Ford Explorer (4.0, tow rate 4,500) which would also be loaned out to customers. Today we were driving the Explorer because the Edge is being Dealer serviced.
Our walk through was well done but I didn't expect to spend an extra couple of hundred for screens for the openings/vents  to keep insects from building nest, a water regulator, and the sewer hose. What's with that? Does everyone have problems with insects?
The RV dealer talked Mike into a 4 point anti-sway and weight distribution system. The trip home proved that the anti-sway is worth the money. We have very high winds, heavy rain bands, and wind shears. While I was driving a 18 wheeler came by and sure rocked our boat. As we made the last turn to home, Mike allows that the Explorer may have to be the primary tow vehicle.

Paula
techntrek View Drop Down
Admin Group - pHp
Admin Group - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2010 at 9:08pm