FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedGenerator Size Question

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Generator Size Question
    Posted: 07 Feb 2016 at 9:19am
Folks

First off let me say I am a newbie to both Rv's and this forum.

My wife and I are in the process of selecting the Rpod model we want and I have few questions to ask this group.

We will be camping primitive to full utilities available.

That said, our new Rpod will have AC, micro wave oven, TV options. When camping primitive and running on batteries only, I am thinking of using a generator during the day to charge batteries and maybe power the outlets for other use such as charging cell phones and powering / charging my lap top. I would not run the AC.
Currently Cabelas (i live 14 miles from the Dundee Store) has a Yamaha 2000 on sale at $200.00 off the original $999.00

Will a 2000 watt generator be sufficient enough to power the items I mentioned? My math says it will however, I know there are some here whose experience is better than my math and I would like to hear from you.

Thank You for any and all help.
Patriot Dave

Dave & Joyce
Never Forget, In God We Trust; This Our National Motto.
Member; Patriot Guard Riders, Michigan Chapter
Retired; So Every Day is Saturday.... Except Sunday
CharlieM View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Feb 2016 at 10:12am
The Yamaha or  Honda 2000 generators will run everything on your list except the AC. Both generators are 2000W starting , but 1600W running. Starting and running the AC is problematic with the 2000, depending on outside temperature, altitude, extension cord type/length and other variables. Pod owner experience varies; some successful but some not. Adding a hard start capacitor to the AC helps but is not guaranteed. Experience points to a 2400W generator being required.