R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedJeep JK Keeps Blowing Rear Shocks

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Jeep JK Keeps Blowing Rear Shocks
    Posted: 30 Jan 2016 at 8:15pm
Hello I have a 2008 Jeep JK with a 4" lift and 35" tires. I own a Rpod RP-176T that I tow with it. Unfortunately, ever since I got the RV I keep blowing rear shocks. In the span of 1 year (since I've gotten the RV) I have gone through 2 sets of shocks. Sometimes just the driver side blows, sometimes both blow. The tongue weight of the RV per manufacturer is only 278lbs. I am a total newbie when it comes to shocks and pulling RVs, so I have no clue other than thinking the RV is too heavy for the Jeep. I was told by the RV dealership that my Jeep would easily pull the RV and that the GVWR was within range of my Jeep as long as the RV was not too overloaded, which it is not. Any ideas you guys have (please take into account my lack of knowledge) would be great. I have been pulling my skeeter bass boat with this Jeep for years with no blown shocks. If the RV is too heavy, is there anything I can do to remedy the problem besides pull it with something else? Lastly, the shocks on the Jeep are ProComp ES9000s. Both times the shocks were leaking fluid. I live in the mountains and go 4 wheeling a lot over mountain passes, so there is lots of opportunity for the shocks to over extend going over large rocks. I will be checking the bumper stops as soon as I get the Jeep back from the dealer, which is replacing the stocks. I bought Jeep used from the dealership with the lift kit and tires on it.

Thanks guys!
Leo B View Drop Down
podders Helping podders - pHp
podders Helping podders - pHp