R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedRefrigerator mode while travelling - Event Date: 11 Jun 2014

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Calendar Event: Refrigerator mode while travelling
    Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 5:34pm
I am a newbie and trying to figure out which mode to use on the refrigerator while in transit on the road.  My dealer said most people use the propane mode and that the refrig will maintain a more consistent temperature in that mode.  I assume this raises a safety issue and wonder if it guzzles propane.  I'm wondering if the DC mode might work almost as well.  How quickly with the refrig drain my battery if i am not moving?  
Outbound View Drop Down
podders Helping podders - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2014 at 6:54pm
Propane mode barely sips propane - your fridge uses less than 1 lb of propane per day.

DC will put a good dent in your battery after 6-8 hours of use and drain a group 24 battery in about 10 hours.  Of course, if your charge line is properly wired, fused and gauged, your vehicle's alternator will supply the required power while you're travelling.  My advice would be to switch over to propane while stopped more than an hour for lunch.

DC mode is adequate for maintaining a cold fridge.  It really is nowhere as quick as propane in its ability to cool down a fridge (or its contents).  I've never noticed any inconsistency in temperature on DC mode - hot days, cold days, whatever, it runs just fine.