R-pod Owners Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Warranty, Service and Recall Bulletins
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Dometic Digital Thermostat - Error E2
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Dometic Digital Thermostat - Error E2

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
CubFanMan1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Oct 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Post Options Post Options   Quote CubFanMan1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Dometic Digital Thermostat - Error E2
    Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 10:48am
Just thought I would let others know that the digital thermostats that are now being used have been know to throw off an E2 error code.   Usually this can be reset by taking power off of the trailer for a short time (3-4 min).

It appears that in extreme heat this code will not reset and it is required that the thermostat be cooled down in some way, by fanning or some other means to reset the error. 

Dometic is aware of the problem and are in the process of resolving the issue.


Back to Top
techntrek View Drop Down
Admin Group - pHp
Admin Group - pHp
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2009
Location: MD
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9049
Post Options Post Options   Quote techntrek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2011 at 1:52pm
Thanks for the info!
Doug ~ '10 171 (2009-2015) ~ 2008 Salem ~ Pod instruction manual
Back to Top
SoCalPod View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 12 May 2011
Location: SoCal
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote SoCalPod Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2011 at 2:07am
So taking off power as in disconnecting the batteries or can we just flip a fuse rocker? I'll have to check next time I'm in there...
Back to Top
CubFanMan1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Oct 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Post Options Post Options   Quote CubFanMan1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jun 2011 at 4:38pm
You must remove any source of 12v power to reset thermostat.

Also,  the problem has been resolved and the digital thermostat from Dometic will need to be replaced.

Dealers are starting to receive the new thermostats already.


Back to Top
Hansonz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 27 Jan 2011
Location: Texas
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 34
Post Options Post Options   Quote Hansonz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Oct 2011 at 4:14pm
I got the E2 code while camping in Oklahoma at a casino KOA. The inside of the Rpod was 105 degrees (110 outside). After calling the dealership and speaking with a tech, he said to cool down the thermostat. A bag of ice did the trick, but I was one hot and unhappy camper.

Back to Top
CinRan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Apr 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote CinRan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2012 at 10:59pm
ok my problem is the ac's compressor goes off, then the fan, but then the fan comes back on in 30 seconds.  took to a dealer and he said it needed to be calabrated... now we are on the BIG trip to yellowstone for the summer. it had been working fine and now bam it is back to the old way PLUS tonight we will need the furnace, which has been working fine BUT NOW when you but the mode on furnace it now turns on the fan on the ac and no furnace (which the fan also now only sets to low)     help please?
Cindy
Back to Top
Camper Bob View Drop Down
podders Helping podders - pHp
podders Helping podders - pHp


Joined: 26 Sep 2011
Location: Portland Oregon
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 911
Post Options Post Options   Quote Camper Bob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2012 at 9:57am
We just received our 2013 171 and have the old style thermostat.  Anyone replaced the old style thermostat with the new digital, and why? 
Camper Bob and Camper Sue
Gracie the Wonder Dog (12 LB. Mini Dachshund)
2013 Rpod 171HRE(ORPod)
2016 Lance 1685
2015 Nissan Pathfinder
Back to Top
CubFanMan1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Oct 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Post Options Post Options   Quote CubFanMan1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2012 at 1:21pm
If you cannot set the fan to AU in the fan mode then there is a problem with the t stat.   As long as the fan mode is set to Hi or Lo the fan on the A/C unit will run during furnace mode.

I would try disconnecting power from the battery and shore power (if you have that plugged in) and see if that resets the t stat. 

Dave
Back to Top
CinRan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Apr 2012
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 13
Post Options Post Options   Quote CinRan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2012 at 9:08pm
Thanks we are taking it in for service in Bozeman tomorrow.. We did try that and nothing worked but thank you for your input!! Happy camping!
Cindy
Back to Top
CubFanMan1 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Oct 2010
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 9
Post Options Post Options   Quote CubFanMan1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 May 2012 at 12:50am
The digital t stat is not interchangeable with the other t stats with the switches on them.

Dave
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.64
Copyright ©2001-2009 Web Wiz