R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedDump Valve Modifications

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Dump Valve Modifications
    Posted: 18 Jun 2016 at 3:48pm
I've read here before that some folks have combined the two drain lines into one dump valve, thus to ease the dumping to one stop. FWIW, I've never owned a trailer before that had a dump, so it's a new chore for me.
I'm no pro plumber but I always do my own and plumbed each house I've built so really looking for how to avoid a pitfall here, not the basic piping procedures. I looked at the two drains and would seem obvious the gray water would need to run forward to the black drain pipe, which is larger. My Model 177 has axle risers so there appears to be plenty of room to make a drain pipe run forward. Slope is a concern that I don't know how to deal with here? Ideas?
I tried the search function on this and gave up on terms to describe this modification!
Thanks in advance! Mike
StephenH View Drop Down
podders Helping podders - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2016 at 9:53pm
You would still want to have separate valves. If you are camping at a campground with full hookups, you would want to open the gray water valve but leave the black water valve closed until the tank is at least 3/4 full. If you pull into a dump station, you would want to dump the black water first, then the gray water to clean out the drain hose. You could use a simple Wye for this. Camco has one.If you could figure out a way to use rigid pipe instead of flexible tubing, it could work. Otherwise, two short sections of flexible hose from the connectors to the wye and then your main hose to the drain would work.
StephenH