R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedSpreadsheet for Rpod & Tow Vehicle Loading

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Rustler View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Spreadsheet for Rpod & Tow Vehicle Loading
    Posted: 12 Jul 2016 at 12:41am
Originally posted by jimcarpin

Thank you so much for all the work you put into this. I am just getting started acquiring an R-Pod and tow vehicle and this spreadsheet puts my mind at ease regarding how much gear I can bring with me and not exceed limits. Thank you again. I see you added a few items to your screen shot. I will add some of them to the spreadsheet. I have deleted the telescope.

Jim I'm pleased you found the spreadsheet to be of use. As you have shown one can easily modify the cargo list and weights to match your own circumstances. Determining the tongue weight was easier than expected. My bathroom scale reads up to 350 lbs. So as I loaded cargo in the Rpod, the scale kept track of tongue loading, ending with 325 lbs. This is within the tow vehicle's maximum of 350 lbs. with loading being 11% of trailer weight. To get this I had to load quite a bit of cargo on the rear queen bed. Evidently the Rpod 171 is a bit heavy on the tongue. Also quite a bit of the telescope's weight was forward from the axle. Only the telescope's optical tube was on the rear bed.