Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: tow
    Posted: 07 Apr 2015 at 12:14am

Tars Tarkas View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2015 at 1:22am
You are at the bare minimum in terms of capability.  I'm not an expert, or even competent at dealing with technical specs, but it sounds like your Evoque will work, but I'd be surprised if you'll be happy with it as a tow vehicle for the Pod.  Towing is about safety more than anything.  You will almost certainly need a weight distributing hitch (which adds weight that counts against your load) and sway control to be safe.  It goes without saying, but here I go anyway, that a brake controller is essential for safety and legality.  You are still going to be very much aware of your extra load, and you won't be doing your engine or transmission any favors.

On smooth roads you'll probably be fine.  On long hills, or mountain passes, you will probably be cursing the Evoque, the Pod, yourself, or something.  A transmission cooler would probably be in order.

BC to AZ is a long trip and it's not all down hill.

I think people pull pods with things like this, but if you do and ever try pulling the pod with an 8 cylinder truck or SUV, you will never go back.  If you have a choice, I'd really recommend something with at least a 5000 lb towing capacity out of the box. 

If it's in the budget, in my opinion you'll enjoy the trip a lot more with a larger TV.

TT
2010 176
FJ Cruiser
Luv2Q View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2015 at 8:39am
Ditto to everything Tars said.  Good luck with whatever you decide.
John & Teri
Tundra 5.7L V8 / RP 180
E2 WDH / Integrated controller (POS) replaced by Tekonsha P3
furpod View Drop Down
Moderator Group - pHp
Moderator Group - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2015 at 8:42am