Topic ClosedBeginner here

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Beginner here
    Posted: 30 Jul 2013 at 9:44pm
 No one ever said that any campgrounds did not have water at every site.  Just got back from our first camping experience. went fairly well. When we got there, I messaged our son that our site had electric, but no water. He called and said that we should have gotten water on the campgrounds before we got to our site. Who knew? Not I! At that point, we were all set up, and just decided not to  hook trailer up and get water. We were fairly close to bathroom and shower facilities.However, next time, we will know enough to get water before we get to our site!  Talk about feeling stupid. There should be a book about Camping for Dummies.
21grandma
dsmiths View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2013 at 9:53pm
21grandam. I generally carry only about 5 gallons when enroute (in case of emergency potty breaks) I fill up at the camp site to keep towing weight down 36 gallons times 7lbs per gallon is much weight. I went to Walmart and got a folding 5 gallon plastic storable water container I keep in the back storage of the pod. Once I did not get my fresh water tank full and took the portable tank to the camp faucet and made 3 hauls and that put 15 gallons in the holding tank, this was enough for late night potty breaks, cooking and washing dishes, I think it was around $10.00 , well worth having in case of emergencies.
Dane and Donna Smith
2011 RP-172
2008 Chevrolet Trailblazer 4X4
lift kit
prodigy wireless brake controller
P&M View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jul 2013 at 8:16am
Another option you may want to consider for these types of situations is to get a hard-sided blue 5 gallon water jug, sold just about everywhere.  They are square and can be strapped down to the frame right next to the battery up front if you aren't running dual batteries.