Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Introduce Yourself
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedNew R-Pod Owner w/ Generator Question

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: New R-Pod Owner w/ Generator Question
    Posted: 13 Aug 2012 at 1:57am
My wife and I bought our first RV this summer, a 177.  Very happy with it, but I'm new to this arena.  I've read many posts regarding generators, but I'm a bit confused.  

We plan on doing some dry camping, and I'd like to be able to run the AC.  Is the Yamaha EF2000iS (or the equivalent Honda model) sufficient to power the R-Pod, including the AC?  
Brandon & Krystal Smith
Keizer, OR
2013 R-Pod 177
2006 Honda Ridgeline
Kickstart View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2012 at 3:23am
The Honda and Yamaha 2000's can run everything in the Rpods with the probable exception of the air conditioner. A 2000 inverter/generator may be ok in some instances to run the 13500 BTU air that is, I believe, installed on Pods. But they're not really large enough to be dependable. A hard start capacitor can be installed that will help, but is not the cure all-end all solution. A larger genset or 2 Yamaha or Honda 2000's running in parallel is what's needed especially if you are at any elevation.

My Pod did not come with air, and we've not yet had it installed. When we do, it will be a Coleman, and not a Dometic. That's just my personal preference, as I've had much better luck with Colemans, and they've not been quite as loud. I'm also going to get a 9200 BTU Coleman Polar Cub. Yes, it's smaller, but big enough, I think, for our RPod 175. The amp draw is some less than the 13500's, and will give me a better chance of running it with my single Yamaha 2000 generator/inverter. Still a crap shoot, but with a little better odds.
'10 RP 175-Replaced by 2014 Kodiak 173 QBSL
'12 Toyota Tundra
'05 Sportster (half a Harley)