R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic Closed12 volt only solar setup?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: 12 volt only solar setup?
    Posted: 23 Aug 2021 at 3:00pm
I'm a big electronics/solar newbie.  My current solar set-up is a folding panel w/charge controller that clamps onto the battery--simple, effective, but not much energy, and I plan on going to 200--300 ah lion battery pack to run a fridge we'll be installing--in addition to furnace and lighting.  So, I want to install 300 watts or so of panels and run all the 12 volt stuff. No need or desire for inverter stuff.  Oh, I need to install a 12 volt station for charging phones.

So, here's my perhaps stupid newbie question(s):

Would it be possible to run the existing battery connections through a charge controller and then run the solar panels through their own charge controller, all feeding through busses, etc. and so to the lion battery pack?  That way the alternator + shore power would use the existing wires but be "controlled" for charging lion batts? Seems to me you just need to control how the batts are charged, and the existing wiring should be good for all the 12 volt stuff, yes?

Also, ideas on where/how to route wires from solar panels?  I've got a 2013 R178.

I'm a bit intimidated by the whole project, but I'm going to take it slow and make it happen.  Just getting my feet wet and my brain introduced to all this stuff.  Thanks so much for the collective wisdom here!

Cheers,

Scott
Colt View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2021 at 5:09pm
It's not too hard. You only need to make one change to your 'pod.