R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedBaffling Fridge Problem Baffled!

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Baffling Fridge Problem Baffled!
    Posted: 14 Sep 2020 at 5:58pm
I swear the Dometic 3-Way fridge is more art than science! Currently, mine is working great in all three modes after 7 years, but it hasn't always been that way. I crossed country with no modifications and it worked great. Then it started acting up. I'm an expert at cleaning, replacing orifice, looking and listening for perfect flame, solar panel boost for 12 volt towing operation and spending wayyy too much money on a Yeti cooler cuz I don't trust it!!

The last year or so, I started getting flame-out while running fridge on propane while towing. Pissed me off cuz it always works perfect when standing still and it is the cleanest propane delivery system on the planet. Something changed with solenoid or draft or karma or wind direction. Don't know what. I was able to run on 12 volt while towing and added a solar panel to my TV to help out so I didn't let it bother me too much. But...being the OCD camper that I am I still wanted to run fridge reliably on propane while towing. Just cuz!!

I can't remember or find where I found this baffle design (I would offer credit), but, hot damn! it works great!! I made mine out of some leftover round ducting I had sitting around. It's really cheap, works great, I swear the fridge works better and it is a work of art!! And please don't call me Art.