R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedHardwired Surge Guard Protector 192 - Event Date: 18 Apr 2020

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Calendar Event: Hardwired Surge Guard Protector 192
    Posted: 18 Apr 2020 at 5:56pm

Hello all 

I am a newbie and this is my first mod post Big smile.  

We recently purchased a 192 and I installed a Hardwired Southwire Surge Guard Protector.  Below are the steps I took to install.  I am not an electrician nor a professional installer so always ensure you are aware of what you are doing, and always read the instructions before you begin Thumbs Up     Pics uploaded will explain it all...I hope

After ensuring all power was disconnected prior to beginning, I removed the vacuum to find the shore power cord (don't remove the electrical panel like I did, as access is FAR better behind the vacuum).  There is lots of space in the electrical area which makes it easy to find the 30a plug with the orange power cord.  

I decided to install the Surge Guard on the wall panel to the left, just under the fridge.    Remember no power to the trailer...  I cut and stripped the wire ensuring enough slack in the length so I could install in my desired location.  Following the Surge Guard instructions I connected the wires to the Line and Load connections, placing the plastic covers on and for safety sake I wrapped electrical tape over the covers so they wouldn't fall off.