R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > I need HELP!!!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedWater heater in 173t

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Water heater in 173t
    Posted: 11 May 2019 at 6:58pm
Hi all,
I’m a newbie with a 2011 173t rpod. I was working on dewinterizing, sanitizing and checking the water system. It seems that the water heater is working on electric, but it is not firing up on propane. I have questions but I don’t know what I don’t know.

Is the inside switch/reset button supposed to light up?
Do you turn off the outside switch to use propane?
Is there a specific procedure to follow?

Grateful for any advice.

Dan

Dan&Sandy
lostagain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2019 at 7:09pm
You probably need to get the air out of your gas lines.  Light your stove and furnace, then try again.  The switch on the galley for hot water should be turned on to operate on gas.  It's best to keep the electric switch turned off to avoid inadvertently burning up the heating element if the water heater has no water.  It takes less than a minute to burn it out.  
Never leave footprints behind.
Fred & Maria Kearney
Sonoma 167RB
Our Pod 172
2019 Ford F-150 4x4 2.7 EcoBoost
StephenH View Drop Down
podders Helping podders - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2019 at 10:19pm
Hello and welcome! The learning curve for a beginner is sometimes quite steep. I know it was for me. Hang in there. It will get easier.

Inside switch controls the propane side. The switch will be lit if it is turned on. The DSI Fault light will turn on initially and then turn off when the propane ignites.