R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic Closedpropane tank

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: propane tank
    Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 3:44pm
Hi there---I'm a definite newbie for rving and for the r-pod so I probably will be using this forum a lot!  Can anyone tell me how you refill the propane tank--It seems you have to disconnect the regulator to take the cover off of the tank--is this right?  thanks
grizwalsh
mjlrpod View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 3:48pm
Depends on your model and year. Mine has a small wing nut in the back of the cover, I remove that, the cover comes right off. Then I release the nut on the tank holder. Then just unscrew connector from tank and its loose. It sounds like alot but takes a minute to do.

2017.5 Rp-172
2020 R-pod 195
2015 Frontier sv 4.0L 6cyl
I'll be rpodding
john in idaho View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 3:55pm
there is a large black knob that screws into the top of the propane tan.  With a hose connected to it.  Turn off the tank and unscrew the black knob.  Then undo the hold downs and lift the tank off.  An empty tank weighs around 16 lbs, and holds around 16 pounds of propane.  you might be advised to watch for 5 gal tanks on sale for around $25 or30 and pick up a spare.  Then take it to a gas station that also sells propane.  After the tank is filled, don't tip it over as the pickup tube might freeze, or so I have been told.  Some places sell a prefilled tank on an exchange basis. some of their tanks look pretty beat up so I prefer to reuse mine. And some of them don't fill the tanks as full.
GlueGuy View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Apr 2018 at 4:06pm