R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedAnode rod

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Anode rod
    Posted: 01 Dec 2017 at 12:13pm
Greetings...

I'm still a newbie at all this so maybe this is a really stupid question.

Background:  We had our Pod in the shop for miscellaneous stuff several months ago.  One thing they did was flush the hot water heater.  I'm assuming some gorilla worked on our trailer because there is no HUMAN way to get that anode rod out.  Nothing will make it unscrew.  I have popped the pressure valve and gotten some water out of it.

Here's my question:  Can I just proceed with the winterization or will freezing temperatures do something devastating to the hot water heater if I leave it in this condition?

TheBum View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2017 at 1:23pm
What are you using to try to loosen the anode rod? If you're using a regular wrench, try adding a cheater bar, which is a long metal tube with a large enough diameter to fit the wrench handle into it. It will provide you with the extra leverage you need.

I use a Harbor Freight torque wrench that I used when installing our WDH.
Larry-D View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2017 at 2:25pm