R-pod Owners Forum Homepage

This site is free to use.
Donations benefit a non-profit Girls Softball organization

Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Podmods, Maintenance, Tips and Tricks
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedSolar Power

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Solar Power
    Posted: 11 Oct 2017 at 11:18am
Hello all, I have been researching Solar Power for my 2017 rpod 179. I used a online calculator to find my power needs. I would like to roof mount, but I am nervous about screwing into my roof. A flex panel sealed to the roof  is the way to go imo. I don't mind a portable one if the quality is better. Any help on pointing me in the right direction would be appreciated.

thanks

165 watts
12.6 amps
56 amp hours

furpod View Drop Down
Moderator Group - pHp
Moderator Group - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Oct 2017 at 1:03pm
where do you live, and where will you be camping? what do you expect the battery to run?
Mafghine View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Oct 2017 at 1:26pm
Might as well be viable for full time living. north america
furpod View Drop Down
Moderator Group - pHp
Moderator Group - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Oct 2017 at 1:59pm
Well.. that's the problem.. SOME of the country is great fro solar, some.. less so. Portable panels allow you to keep the pod in the shade, and put the panels in the sun, mounted panels, mean the pod MUST be in the sun. If full time around the country includes the wooded east.. then portable panels make more sense..

If full timing, and wanting to do so off grid, then a generator is the real answer. Unless you are willing and able to spend an awful lot of money, the microwave and air conditioner will be useless. I can live without one.. but not the other, myself.