Forum Home Forum Home > R-pod Discussion Forums > Wish List
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Calendar   Register Register  Login Login

Topic Closednewbie - Event Date: 10 Jun 2017

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Calendar Event: newbie
    Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 10:27am
Hi!  Just bought rpod 179 2017 and know nothing!  We towed it carefully to a storage area and unhitched with much ado (trying to remember our walk through) and put the rpod cover on.  First trip on Father's Day! My question is (well, the first question as I have many): should we have gotten a storage place where it plugged in?  Sounds like the battery will drain if we don't?  I am a retired 5th grade teacher so rpod electrical and battery is intimidating but I want to learn.
GlueGuy View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 10:32am
We store ours in a storage space when we're not using it. We take the batteries and propane with us, and do a weekly boost on the batteries while they are in our garage.

The batteries will self-discharge over time even when there is no load. If you're not going to boost them within a month or so, I would figure out something to keep them charged. If there is any kind of load on them, they might only last a week or two.

Discharging them too deeply (and what "too deeply" means varies by battery type and manufacturer) can permanently damage them.
bp
2017 R-Pod 179 Hood River
2015 Ford F150 SuperCrew 4WD 3.5L Ecoboost
Leo B View Drop Down
podders Helping podders - pHp

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 10:37am
Welcome to the group! Congrats on your 179!
We store ours in our yard and just disconnect between trips and bring the battery in during the winter(use a trickle charger on it)
Leo & Melissa Bachand
2017 Ford F150
2021 Vista Cruiser 19 csk
Previously owned
2015 Rpod 179
2010 Rpod 171
bevie View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jun 2017 at 11:47am